THE COMIC CODE – … Adventures

Comic book companies use words with specific meanings that only regular readers understand which can confuse or scare-off new readers, when sometimes these words should be helping them.  Even the addition of the word Adventures to the end of a comic book title can be code…


Originally, and infrequently today, ending a comic book title “Adventures” was a meaningless addition to a comic book title to make is sound more exciting, like other words such as “Comic”, “Tales”, “Legends”.

  • Strange Adventures (DC Comics 1950 – 1975, 1999 – 2000, 2004 – 20005, 2009, 2011)
  • Rocketeer Adventures.

Comics based on animated series.

Mostly at DC Comics, and especially since at DC since The Batman Adventures.  Obviously, most are family friendly and have one-off stories.  Not all comics based on cartoons have “Adventures” added, mainly the ones that already have an existing comic with that title.

  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Adventures (Archie Comics 1988 – 1995) based on the animated series Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1987 – 1996)
  • Muppet Babies Adventures (Harvey 1992)  based on animated series Muppet Babies (1984 – 1991)
  • The Batman Adventures (DC Comics 1992 – 1995) based on Batman: The Animated Series.
  • The Batman & Robin Adventures (DC Comics 1995 – 1997) to mimic the rebranding of Batman: The Animated Series as The Adventures of Batman & Robin (DC Comics 1994 – 1995)
  • Batman: Gotham Adventures (DC Comics 1998 – 2003) when the series title changed to The New Batman Adventures (1997 – 1998) (The original plan was for the name of the series to be changed to Batman: Gotham Knights)
  • Batman Adventures (DC Comics 2003 – 2004)
  • Superman Adventures (DC Comics 1996 – 2002) based on the animated series Superman (2001 – 2002).
  • Justice League Adventures (DC Comics 2002 – 2004) based on the first season (2001 – 2002) of Justice League animated series.  Later seasons were called Justice League Unlimited and the comic shared that name.
  • Pokemon Adventures (Viz 1999 – 2000)
  • Star Wars: Clone Wars Adventures (Dark Horse 2004 – 2007) based on Star Wars: Clone Wars (2003 – 2005).
  • Marvel Universe: Ultimate Spider-Man Adventures (Marvel) based on the Ultimate Spider-Man animated series.

All-Ages based comics.

The connection to animation and the hokeyness of the word has lead to the use in family friendly titles (usually stand alone stories).

  • Dark Claw Adventures (DC/Marvel 1997) a The Batman: The Animated Series-style comic about an amalgam of Batman & Wolverine.
  • Marvel Adventures, a family friendly Marvel Imprint (although the comics are named in the style of Marvel Adventures: Fantastic Four.)
  • DC Presents: Wonder Woman Adventures (DC Comics 2012) a collection of Adventures in the DC Universe (Batman: The Animated Series-style comics)

~ DUG.

Other Comic Book Posts.


3 thoughts on “THE COMIC CODE – … Adventures

  1. Pingback: Comic Book Blogs | Duggy's Blogs

  2. Pingback: Overview #1 | Stepping On Point

  3. Pingback: COMIC BOOK STEPPING ON POINT – Poll | Stepping On Point

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s