UNIVERSES – Star Wars Expanded Universe

Getting into comics can seem difficult to the newcomer.  What are the different universes and why are there so many?


Beyond the standard Super Hero universes there are (a very few) others, for example the Star Wars Expanded Universe (now defunct and rebranded Star Wars Legends.)

The Expanded Universe, of course, spun out of the Star Wars movies rather than first appearing in comics, and although Lucasfilms labelled it a lower level of canon than the films that description displays a common misunderstanding of the term canon.  Although books and comics based on Star Wars were around from about the release of the first film, it wasn’t until Timothy Zahn’s Thrawn novel trilogy of 1991 – 1993 that the EU really got going.  While the EU encompassed multiple genres including cartoons, novels and comics, the nature of this blog means we’ll just look at the comics.

The following are the major comic titles during each era, other minor titles exist


SW -DawnOfTheJedi1Alt

  • Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi (~26,000 years before Star Wars)
  • Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi (~5,000 – 4,000  years before)
  • Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic (~4,000 years before)
  • Star Wars: The Old Republic (~3,600 years before)
  • Star Wars: Knight Errant (~1,000 years before)


SW Obi-Wan-Kenobi-y-Quinlan-Vos1-688x1024

  • Star Wars: Republic (~Just before Episode I until Episode II)
  • Star Wars: Clone Wars (Episode II until Episode III)


SW - Darktimes

  • Star Wars: Dark Times (Episode III until ~19 years before Star Wars)
  • Star Wars: Droids (5 years before)

STAR WARS (later had “A NEW HOPE” added.)


  • Star Wars: Empire (Just before Star Wars until Rebellion)
  • Star Wars: Classic Star Wars (From Star Wars until after Return of the Jedi)
  • Star Wars Adventures (After Star Wars until Return of the Jedi)
  • Star Wars: Rebellion (After Empire until Return of the Jedi)
  • Star Wars (Star Wars to The Empire Strikes Back)


sw - legacy

  • Star Wars:  X-Wing: Rogue Squadron (Soon after Return of the Jedi)
  • Star Wars: Invasion (~25 years after Return of the Jedi – The New Jedi Order era.)
  • Star Wars: Legacy (~139 years after Return of the Jedi)


~ DUG.


One thought on “UNIVERSES – Star Wars Expanded Universe

  1. Pingback: FIRST ISSUES – January 2015 | Stepping On Point

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s