UNIVERSES – The DC Universe Part III – The Silver & Bronze Ages (Earth 2)

Getting into reading and collecting comics can seem difficult to the newcomer.  What are the different universes and why are there so many?

DC Universe

After introduction of self-regulation via The Comic Code, superhero comics became one of the only viable genres and a completely new version of The Flash was introduced in 1956’s Showcase #4.  In it, Barry Allen, the new Flash named himself on his comic book hero, Jay Garrick.  Other older hero names were reused and the Silver Age was born.  And thus was born the Silver Age DC Universe.

The Silver Age – Earth-Two

1961 – 1986

Justice Society of America - Earth 2

 Eventually, in 1961, in The Flash #123’s “The Flash of Two Worlds”, Barry discovered a way to travel between worlds and discovered the universe of the old Flash and named that world “Earth-Two” (and his own “Earth One”).  Earth-Two features now older versions of the Golden Age characters.  Superman had gone grey around the temples and married Lois, Batman had married Catwoman and had a daughter Helena Wayne (The Huntress) and been killed.  The children of many of the heroes became Infinity Inc and even an Earth-Two version of Supergirl, called Power Girl was created.  Coming into the 80s, the Justice Society of America would annually team up with their Earth-One counterparts the Justice League of America.  During one of these, Black Canary’s husband was killed and she moved to Earth-One.

 ~ DUG.

CBG duel


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s